History

 

The Fox Inn at Ysceifiog is a two-storey late Georgian village pub.¬†Identified by CAMRA as having a nationally important historic interior, this classic village inn has a four rooms which remain little changed since the 1930’s.

The slate-floored drinking lobby has a tiny hatch in the leaded screen around the servery, which would have also been the off-sales. A sliding door leads to the tiny front bar with an old counter, old panelling on the window side, a 1930s tiled fireplace with a coal fire and bare bench seating, including some attached to the front of the counter – something that may be unique in a pub anywhere. The intimate space means visitors are quickly drawn into conversation.

At the rear is the lounge which is now used to serve food. This room retains fixed seating dating from the 1930s and a post-war fireplace.

To the front right is the small snug with a cast-iron fireplace.

Look for the number of the doors, a requirement of H M Customs and Excise to denote all the rooms in a public house used for the storage or sale of alcohol. There is a ‘4’ on the door to the lounge; a ‘5’ on the door to the rear right room, which has been in use as a dining room in the past; and ‘6’ on the cellar door.

The Fox retains a disused, but rarely seen, cask pump – a way of serving beer direct from a cask with the added benefit of serving it with a good ‘head’ – if not visible just ask to see it.

Directly opposite the pub is an enclosed children’s play area with a range of fixed activities including swings and slides.

The Fox Inn is set in an official area of outstanding natural beauty.

Free Wi-Fi broadband available.